Introducing NEW Pride Service Site Leaders Program

In January 2014, the Office of Civic Engagement launched the Pride Service Site Leaders Program.  This program, supported by President Harris and his executive team, ensures Widener is fulfilling its mission of community service and volunteerism, while inspiring students to be citizens of character who demonstrate civic leadership. 

The mission of the program is to educate, equip, and empower Widener students to coordinate and grow service opportunities for organizations within the Chester community which will increase and sustain the quality of life for its residents while enhancing the leadership development of the Pride Service Site Leaders.  These highly motivated and talented student leaders will act as ambassadors between Widener and the service site in Chester. 

Pride Service Site Leaders essentially serve as volunteer coordinators for one community partner in Chester for approximately 5 hours a week (160 hours during the academic year).  In return, they receive a $1,500 scholarship to be applied towards their tuition.  Applications to apply for this program are made available in March 2015.

If you’re interested in volunteering in Chester, contact one of Widener’s 2014-2015 Pride Service Site Leaders. 

Pride Service Site Leader

Community Partner

Hannah Landvater hmlandvater@mail.widener.edu

The Unity Center

Bridgett Leon

bfleon@mail.widener.edu

Earth Force

Beatrice Frempong  bfrempong@mail.widener.edu

Salvation Army

Emily Defreitas

ecdefreitas@mail.widener.edu

Shade Tree

Lindsay Chimel

lchimel@mail.widener.edu

Boys and Girls Club

Virago Perera

vperera@mail.widener.edu

College Access Center

Tiara Jones

tsjones1@mail.widener.edu

Chester Senior Center

Arielle Coughlin   aecoughlin@mail.widener.edu

CityTeam

Monika Raj

mraj@mail.widener.edu

NIA Center

Therese McDonald  tdmcdonald@mail.widener.edu

Freedom Baptist

Allison Lackman  alackman@mail.widener.edu

Better Living Center

Lexi Jednorski   ahjednorski@mail.widener.edu

Stetser Elementary School

Zach Weed

zwweed@mail.widener.edu

Northern Star Sports

Martha Machowski    mgmachowski@mail.widener.edu

Crozer Hospital

 

 

Comments

Post Comment
Random Image
Please copy the code into the box. Reload the page or click the image if it is unreadable.
You do not currently have any cookies from this site. You must accept cookies in order to pass the captcha. For information on enabling cookies in your browser see this: google page on cookies.
Note: all fields are required